Skip to content ↓

The Academy Committee

Academy Committee – Rainham Mark Grammar School


Our Academy Committee consists of staff elected members, parent elected members and co-opted members appointed by the Trust Board.

As a committee of the Trust Board at Rainham Mark Education Trust (RMET), we work collaboratively to drive effective governance by ensuring:

  • Clarity of Vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • A means of holding leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff and their continued professional development
  • Oversight of the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent

Our Scheme of Delegation and Terms of Reference documentation ensures that we provide a governance framework which is transparent and robust, the work of the Academy Committee supports the Trust Board by monitoring the school’s key areas of focus including that of the community.

The key areas of focus for the Academy Committee include:

  • Safeguarding
  • Prevent
  • Behaviour and Attitudes to Learning
  • Quality of Education
  • Curriculum
  • SEND
  • Pupil Premium
  • Equality Act
  • Student Wellbeing
  • Wellbeing of Staff
  • Early Years/Sixth Form
  • Focus Group of Students
  • Personal Development
  • Data/Evidence
  • Governance Development & Training


Chair of the Academy Committee: Linda Bourne 

Academy Committee Members:

  • Budd Birkitt (Staff Elected Academy Committee Member)
  • Linda Bourne (Co-opted Academy Committee Member)
  • Louise Cox (Co-opted Academy Committee Member)
  • Fay Fautley (Parent Elected Academy Committee Member)
  • Agnes Hart (Headteacher)
  • Kasia Moore (Staff Elected Academy Committee Member)
  • Kalgi Shah (Co-opted Academy Committee Member)

Vacancies: There are currently vacancies for Co-opted Academy Committee Members.

If you are interested in joining the Academy Committee, please contact Rachelle Stevens, Head of Governance and Company Secretary, via the email address