Skip to content ↓

Local Governing Body

Rainham Mark Grammar School is a partnership of parents, staff, pupils and governors.  It is part of the Rainham Mark Education Trust (RMET).  The Local Governing Body (LGB)  has three core functions:

  1. ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  2. working with the school leadership to maximise educational achievement for pupils and the performance management of staff; and
  3. overseeing the financial performance and ensuring money is well spent

The Governing Body’s responsibilities are delegated by the Trust, via the Terms of Reference, which can be seen here.   Much responsibility is further delegated to monitoring pairs of governors who visit up to 3 times a year to check progress against the school's development plan and strategic objectives.

Parent Governors are an important part of the Governing Body and elections are held when vacancies arise.  If you are interested in becoming a Governor, please email the Clerk,  Mel Greener 

You can contact the governing body through the school or by email via the Clerk.

Co-opted Governors


Role & monitoring responsibilities

Linda Bourne

Quality of Education & Pupil Outcomes 

Personal Development, Behaviour and Wellbeing

Agnes Gehrke Finance Pay and Reward, Health & Safety

Mrs Susan Griffiths

Chair of Governors

Quality of leadership & management

Christopher Hill Personal Development, Behaviour and Wellbeing.
Paul Provins Personal Development, Behaviour and Wellbeing.

Rev Stephen Roe


Quality of Leadership & Management 

Kalgi Shah Health & Safety
Mark Young Quality of Education & Pupil Outcomes, Pupil Premium

Parent Governors


Role & monitoring responsibilities

Mrs Louise Cox

Quality of education & pupil outcomes 

Mrs Lola Lanipekun

Finance, Pay and Reward

Quality of Leadership & Management

Mrs Tracey Scott-Fox

SEND governor, Pupil Premium

Vacancies available  

Staff Governors


Role & monitoring responsibilities

Mrs Jane Mayes

Finance, pay and reward

Mrs Carol Wallis

Pupil premium

Ex Officio Governor


Ms Lisa Barker


School Business Manager


Mrs Michele Brighton



  • Ofsted Outstanding
  • PTI 20
  • Gold Science Mark
  • The Prince's Teaching Institute 2019
  • Secondary Geography Quality Mark
  • Stem learning
  • unicef bronze
  • IQM Inclusive School Award
  • IQM Centre of Excellence Award